Safari Tent Reviews

We have a 4 and 5 year old who cried when they left as they had such a fabulous time! The tents are really spacious and well equipped, a lot more comfortable and warm than we expected.
The farm has plenty of activities for children – our kids made lots of new friends and they all bonded over collecting the eggs from the chicken caravan in the mornings. Beautiful location, great attention to detail from Tapnell Farm – text the day before to check arrival time to ensure our tent was ready on time, welcome basket etc. We’ve already booked for next year

SEPTEMBER 2015

I would heartily recommend Tapnell farm to anyone who is considering visiting the Isle of Wight. The safari tents are amazingly appointed, with woodburning stoves, electric blankets, firepit and barbecues. Each tent has its own toilet and shower so there is no tramping to the toilet block in the middle of the night. Essentials like wood, charcoal, firelighters, cleaning cloths, matches etc etc are all provided for free, there was even a supply of cricket bats, balls, etc in the wood shed

SEPTEMBER 2015

Absolutely brilliant long weekend with family. Spectacular setting and wonderful experience. Staff were great pre-arrival double checking everything was clear and even helping out with a birthday surprise. We’ve been before and we’ll be back!

AUGUST 2015

We celebrated my husband’s birthday at Tom’s Eco Lodges with a group of friends, including children. It was fantastic. Great location, friendly staff, snug lodges and wood-fired hot tubs. The kids loved it, and the adults had a ball drinking wine, eating hog roast, and cycling around the island. Can’t think of anything negative to write

MAY 2015

Fantastic weekend…” Having previously booked and camped with Featherdown Farms for the last 6 years, this is an upgrade and the tents at this location were fantastic. We will not go backwards to Featherdown after this splendid experience. Driving up to the tents to unload everything very helpful, the sheltered verandah is a great idea and keeps those muddy boots outside! Having the option to use the old fashion stove to heat water or just having the kettle as a back up is great. The storage facilities in the 2 bedrooms really useful. Overall a great experience and will definitely be returning again. Really helpful with the booking and very accommodating to our needs at that time.

SARAH – FROM TRIP ADVISOR, AUGUST, 2014

Excellent place, would highly recommend staying here.. We booked two tents for four girls and nine children and we had the best time. The weather wasn’t great but it is England. All the facilities we’re clean and new and there we’re plenty of things to amuse the children. The honesty larder is a great idea and you can’t get eggs fresher!! We are all looking forward to going back.

CARLEY, APRIL, 2014

Excellent Glamping…. My kids and I spent 4 wonderful days at Tom’s Eco Lodge. The tent is extremely spacious, very well equipped and there’s a lot of attention to details. There are 6 very comfortable beds (+2 additional ones if you need them) with electric blankets (very much needed), a wood burning stove in the kitchen/living space which is wonderful for warming up food and a great shower with plenty of hot water. We were blessed with 4 days of sunshine so we made the most of the outdoor space.

We prepared food in the small bbq and even used their pizza oven (make sure you get it up and running at least an hour before baking your pizzas!). The kids played and ran outside all the time and our dog had the time of his life. All the tents were occupied when we were there but there’s space for everyone and it never felt crowded. My little girl loved looking for freshly laid eggs in the morning (although we only found 4 during our stay) and holding the little lambs in the nearby barn.

Farmer Josh and his lovely family will happily explain life on the farm and give you a tour of their milk parlour. From the tent, we enjoyed beautiful sunsets over the English Channel. The location is wonderful too, a 5-minute drive to Freshwater with groceries stores (but we also loved making our purchases from the Honesty Larder – great idea) and a 10-minute drive from Yarmouth and not much longer to The Needles in Alum Bay. Kimmi is very helpful and she will provide you with anything you need or give you advice. We would love to go back! To see the full review go to: Trip Advisor Review

CHA72 , APRIL, 2014

I would heartily recommend Tapnell farm to anyone who is considering visiting the Isle of Wight. The safari tents are amazingly appointed, with woodburning stoves, electric blankets, firepit and barbecues. Each tent has its own toilet and shower so there is no tramping to the toilet block in the middle of the night. Essentials like wood, charcoal, firelighters, cleaning cloths, matches etc etc are all provided for free, there was even a supply of cricket bats, balls, etc in the wood shed

SEPTEMBER 2015

Fantastic, beautiful, peaceful and friendly. Can’t recommend Toms Eco Lodges enough. Amazing views, really relaxed and friendly owners. Although its on a working farm its really peaceful, we felt really private and were really left alone to relax and enjoy. We watched the cows wandering past, sat out in the sun during the day and round the fire at night. The tents are really well equiped, there was everything we needed to cook and cater for a large group. The beds were comfy and the showers are just fantastic, taking a shower with the view into the woods is just lovely. There is loads of space inside and outside the tents and lovely bbq area too. Go there, its great!

TASHA COLE, SEPTEMBER, 2012

Hi Tom, I stayed in the eco lodge over the weekend and was hugely impressed with the quality and comfort of the tents. I have never stayed in any accomodation like it. Hugely comfortable and hugely enjoyable. Many thanks

NICK KILDUF, AUGUST, 2012

My boy cried because I said we couldn’t live at Tom’s Eco Lodge for ever! We had an amazing time! Most people expect to come accross a fervent eco warrior when the hear the word eco applied to anything. Not the case here, the eco is a set up that is sympathetic to the environment without ramming “green” down your throat, you’re there for a holiday! The eco for us was sitting in perfect tranquility watching a pair of Barn owls hunt in the newly plantied saplings whilst as pur hair dried in the evening breeze from a relaxing hot tub! The views are astonishing, the “Tents”, tents doesn’t quite cover the experience, were perfect and the breadth of activities on the doorstop was immense. We’d been to the Isle of Wight festival, however, we could have gone kayaking. paragliding or kitesurfing: hung out at the beach gone for a cycle ride, taken a rib charter or just walked in the local countryside.

DOM HICKLIN, MAY, 2012

Modulog Reviews

I’m too old to pitching up a tent (i’m not, but its a great excuse) – ‘Glamping’ is so the way forward! Toms Eco Lodge..is perfect.  We plumped for the Modulog.  2 adults, 2 teenagers, one ne  (a small dog).  Brilliant.  Who’d have thunk that camping can be so much fun, so easy..and above all dry!  The ‘log’ is perfect.  Even for 6+ footers (but you do need bend when having a pee – but then again, its a real flushing toilet…no trees in here!).  The wood fired hot tub (and fire pit) were a real bonus, kids loved it, so did the dog (watching not swimming in it)  unfortunately he now smells….. of burnt wood 🙂 ! Activities were all excellent, highly recommend the clay pigeon and air rifles.  Very well located, everything is 5-10 minutes away (literally – but then you are on a small island) so a perfect base for exploration…and there is a lot to do.  We highly recommend and will certainly be going back.

Beth & Family, August 2017

Wood Cabin Reviews

Fantastic accomodation, in a stunning setting, with lots of space for children to explore, in a safe environment. Fantastic on-site restaurant (food is superb). Very helpful staff

AUGUST 2015

The view from the deck, with bbq, is just wonderfull. The kids liked the jumping pillow and the playblocks very much. Every day they checked for fresh eggs at the chicken caravan. We had fresh eggs every day! We certainly recommend this stay to Everyone!

JULY 2015

The view from the deck, with bbq, is just wonderfull. The kids liked the jumping pillow and the playblocks very much. Every day they checked for fresh eggs at the chicken caravan. We had fresh eggs every day! We certainly recommend this stay to Everyone!’ JULY 2015

JULY 2015

Fantastic accomodation, in a stunning setting, with lots of space for children to explore, in a safe environment. Fantastic on-site restaurant (food is superb). Very helpful staff.

AUGUST 2015

Eco Pod Reviews

We stayed in the new Eco Pods at Tapnell Farm. There were four of us – two adults and two lively boys and the pod was excellent. It chucked with rain for a large part of our stay but it didn’t matter as there is an excellent indoor play barn for the kids and a very good coffee available for the adults! The boys loved checking for eggs (we found two!), the bouncy pillow, the indoor zip wires and going round the milking sheds. My mother in law and I loved the fact it was totally safe for the boys to run freely, the great cafe with good food and the small shop with essentials and also luxury food items! We will be booking again, with more extended family

AUGUST

We stayed in the new Eco Pods at Tapnell Farm. There were four of us – two adults and two lively boys and the pod was excellent. It chucked with rain for a large part of our stay but it didn’t matter as there is an excellent indoor play barn for the kids and a very good coffee available for the adults! The boys loved checking for eggs (we found two!), the bouncy pillow, the indoor zip wires and going round the milking sheds. My mother in law and I loved the fact it was totally safe for the boys to run freely, the great cafe with good food and the small shop with essentials and also luxury food items! We will be booking again, with more extended family

AUGUST 2015

General Tapnell Reviews

Tom’s Eco Lodge have been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2014.

TRIP ADVISOR, OCTOBER, 2014

We are a family of 5 and traveled with our dog so Glamping was perfect. Everything in the tent was as good as we expected and the feel of a bit of a luxury adventure. Our kids loved it. The site was quiet and well run with very friendly approachable hosts.

F. WATT, JULY, 2014

Amazing!” Tom’s Eco Lodge is THE best glamping offering we have stayed in. The accommodation is luxurious, the location and scenery is stunning and the being on the farm with all the animals just topped it off. Our young children (3 and 1) loved the space and freedom. We felt they were totally safe the whole time and were never bored. We will defintely be back next year.

MADELEINE – FROM TRIP ADVISOR, JULY, 2014

Toms Echo Lodge was outstanding in every way!” We booked the holiday almost a year in advance and spent the rest of the year looking at that the Toms Echo Lodge web site getting very excited! When we arrived it exceeded all of our expectations that we had spent a year building up! Its perfect for families, with every thing you could want on site including the excellent, well stocked and reasonably priced honesty larder. The children can explore cows, chickens and great country side in a safe and very well managed environment. I cant wait until next summer for our next stay!

DAVID – FROM TRIP ADVISOR, JULY, 2014

wow! we all had such an amazing time..fantastic accomodation, beautiful scenery and fresh eggs for breakfast, who could ask for more! we wish the very best of luck and will definately be back xx

KIM GENDUSO, JULY, 2013

Predominately rural and boasting 57km of coastline, the Isle of Wight became fashionable with the Victorians as a smart holiday destination after Queen Victoria made it her home. Since then, the teeming social calendar, which includes the sailing event Cowes and events such as Bestival and The Isle of White Festival, has been drawing visitors in ever-increasing numbers. But that’s not to say that you can’t find a peaceful corner to call your own. Tom’s Eco Lodges, a new addition to the island’s accommodation scene, offer staggering views, your own BBQs and 500 dairy cows to make your stay the perfect bucolic experience… Read more here Red Online Review

RED ONLINE MAGAZINE – LISA HELMANIS (EDITOR), JUNE, 2013

We have a 4 and 5 year old who cried when they left as they had such a fabulous time! The tents are really spacious and well equipped, a lot more comfortable and warm than we expected.
The farm has plenty of activities for children – our kids made lots of new friends and they all bonded over collecting the eggs from the chicken caravan in the mornings. Beautiful location, great attention to detail from Tapnell Farm – text the day before to check arrival time to ensure our tent was ready on time, welcome basket etc. We’ve already booked for next year

SEPTEMBER 2015

Absolutely brilliant long weekend with family. Spectacular setting and wonderful experience. Staff were great pre-arrival double checking everything was clear and even helping out with a birthday surprise. We’ve been before and we’ll be back!

AUGUST 2015

We celebrated my husband’s birthday at Tom’s Eco Lodges with a group of friends, including children. It was fantastic. Great location, friendly staff, snug lodges and wood-fired hot tubs. The kids loved it, and the adults had a ball drinking wine, eating hog roast, and cycling around the island. Can’t think of anything negative to write

MAY 2015

Just returned from a whistle stop tour of the Isle of Wight. Stayed at a fabulous place called Tom’s eco lodge (wwwtomsecolodge.com) which is five huts by the sea, on farm where you can collect eggs from free range hens in the morning (if you get there before the children from the other holidaying families do) and see the cows being milked to ‘Wave Fm’ at four in the morning or the more reasonable four in the afternoon. Read more here… Sarah Tucker

SARAH TUCKER – TRAVEL JOURNALIST, AUTHOR & TV PRESENTER, APRIL, 2013

Article in the Times on Sunday and on Website “Travel tips: posh camping, Greek football academy and squeezing your bags” Full article here The Times

THE SUNDAY TIMES – JANE KNIGHT, APRIL, 2013

Wanted to say thank you for giving us the most wonderful holiday. We all had a great time, the children especially loved the farm, the fresh air and the sense of freedom. They spent hours and hours running around outside completely engaged and content and despite not a lot of sun last week they all came home with slight sun tans! We definitely plan to return.

CATRIN CARTER, APRIL, 2012